Visitors will have the opportunity to explore Eagle Bluff Lighthouse after hours during “Twilight Tours, Tunes, and Tales.” History and legends come to life through stories, poems, and music on September 29 and October 6, 6 – 8:30 pm.
The Northern Door Storytellers Guild are featured throughout the tours telling the history of the lighthouse, sharing tales of the sea, lighthouse lore, perform traditional music, and recite legends in verse. This year’s tour also marks the 150th birthday of the historic Lighthouse. Since the lighthouse is part of Peninsula State Park, a park vehicle sticker is required for entry.
The Eagle Bluff Lighthouse, along with Heritage Village at Crossroads at Big Creek, is maintained by the Door County Historical Society. Throughout the summer the Society holds educational events, activities and tours that highlight the history of the county.
The Twilight Tours are part of the 2018 Fall Lighthouse Festival put together by the Door County Maritime Museum (DCMM). Due to the popularity of the early June festival, the DCMM created another opportunity for Lighthouse lovers to explore these historic structures. The grounds can be explored independently or with a volunteer-led tour.
A Brief History
The Eagle Bluff Lighthouse was built in 1868, perched on a bluff 76 feet above Green Bay waters. The lighthouse was abandoned in the early 20th century, but the light remained lit. In the 1930s, the lighthouse was officially declared a part of Peninsula State Park. By the 1950s it was abandoned with no one caring for its maintenance.
In 1960 the Door County Historical Society, with the help of William Duclon (the only surviving son of the second lighthouse keeper), assumed the task of restoring the Lighthouse. By 1963 restoration work was completed and the Lighthouse/Museum received its first visitors. Final restoration projects were completed in the early 2000s.
For a more comprehensive history of the site, visit the Eagle Bluff Lighthouse website.